What makes up a baseball fan’s mind?

It’s an interesting thing to read any piece of news and have an immediate reaction to it.  I have to admit that things that I am pre-inclined either for or against is a major indicator of how I usually react.  Take for example, if the topic is anything regarding our current Presidential Administration, I would most likely have a negative reaction to nearly anything that I read or heard, and could easily find a way to judge it critically.  If on the other hand the topic were one of my largest passions, anything regarding my favorite baseball club (the Chicago White Sox), I would be hard-pressed to have a similar reaction.  I seem to take the positive out of even the smallest bit of  seemingly inconsequential news, and concoct a scenario under which I could see it helping me toward my regaining the best natural high that a junkie like myself could ever feel…the feeling of having your team on top of the baseball world, as World Series Champions.  It has been since 2005 since I was privileged enough to experience the feeling as a life-long baseball fan, and after witnessing another Yankee post-season triumph, the reminder of what it was like 4 short years ago comes rushing back all at once, but only briefly as a memory that is becoming less and less clear as the time passes.

Just as positive as I can be, I have found that some fans can be equally as negative about the exact same piece of news.  It is a classic case of “glass half empty vs. full”, and the truth I guess is not in the eye of the beholder, but in the hand of the fan holding the glass.  I conducted an interesting exercise of visiting the message boards of my favorite team, and expressed my positive view on current events, and was shocked at how much in the minority I quickly was among my fellow fans.  The views against ranged from mildly disappointed to extremely disgusted on everything and everyone involved with the organization.  I was appalled to find that some folks actually seemed to wish the team lose so that a cleansing of the management and coaching staff could occur, to be replaced by someone who in their mind’s would run the team more appropriately.  Winning the first World Series in 2005, and ending a drought of 88 years, was an enormous accomplishment for that club, but what it obviously did at the same time was raise the bar of expectation to an unrealistic level not easily undone.  Some folks were perfectly happy with the hint of greatness again, and thankful for the opportunity to be a part of such a historic and joyous event, while others (clearly) were ruined forever by a sense of entitlement that only comes with witnessing a success not fully appreciated by how difficult it was to occur in the first place.  Neither fan is wrong in their thinking per se, but it certainly is, and will continue to be a great divide of perception that I will never fully understand.

4 Comments

Filed under Baseball, Uncategorized, White Sox

4 responses to “What makes up a baseball fan’s mind?

  1. jamie

    i’ll not understand it either. but you’ve summed up the problem with this sentence right here:

    <<>>

  2. Did I miss the sentence you were referring to??? Do continue….

  3. jamie

    shoot, forgot that when you put those symbols in they are considered html….

    this was the sentence:

    Winning the first World Series in 2005, and ending a drought of 88 years, was an enormous accomplishment for that club, but what it obviously did at the same time was raise the bar of expectation to an unrealistic level not easily undone.

  4. But, raising the bar IS a good problem to have. Once you’ve tasted the fruit…you hunger for that sweetness ever more!

Leave a Reply

